Skip to content

My Morning around Birmingham: A Recap of All the Exciting Places My Journalism Professor Took Our Class

04/22/2016

As I woke up at 7:30 am last Friday, I had no idea on the journey that I was about to embark on. After going on this adventure, I now have a far greater appreciation for the amazing city that I currently live in.

I approached the Birmingham-Southern College Security Shack at around 8:30 am to meet my professor to ride the Birmingham City Bus with my Journalism class. I chatted with my professor and a few of the other early birds that were already waiting, while we waited for my missing classmates to arrive.

We boarded the bus without a few of my classmates and embarked on our adventure to the heart of Downtown Birmingham, AL. I thoroughly enjoyed the bus ride there. It was interesting to me just the class disparity that existed on that bus ride. That was a sad sight to see and I think that that is something that needs to be addressed. I would have never done this life experience, had it not been for my professor.

After we got off the bus, we stopped and got a little history about the city of Birmingham. The bus let us off in front of the Carver Theatre. The Carver Theatre is now the Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame. My professor gave us an architecture lesson and proceeded to explain to us that most of the buildings in downtown have two different styles on them and this causes them to be appeared to be “Two-Faced.”

We then walked over to the Lyric Theatre and got a complete behind the scenes tour of the venue. As I walked inside, I felt as though I had gone back to a time in the past where men wore suits in the humid Alabama summer and Women wore Kentucky Derby hats on a daily basis. I could tell that the people who funded the restoration spent a fortune doing so and I thought that it was worth every penny. I cannot wait to take my parents to an event in this amazing venue.

Our next stop was to yet another amazing local to Birmingham, AL coffee shop called Relevator Coffee Company. I was really impressed by what I saw. I was expecting to be ripped off by the prices. Surprisingly, I was not. I thought that everything was very reasonable and fair. While I did not purchase anything to drink, I was starving and wanted some food. I went with a Chocolate Chip Cookie and I was surprised with what I tasted. It did not taste like cardboard like a typical Starbucks cookie. Instead, it tasted like it was made from scratch and homemade. I will defiantly make this a place I bring my parents in the future.

Another stop that we made was to We Sell Doughnuts. I had never heard of this place until one of my classmates went absolutely nuts when she learned we were not far from the shop. I really wasn’t sure what to expect in regards to the food. I bought the buttermilk old-fashioned doughnut and I thought that it was the best doughnut that I have ever eaten. I was not expecting the pastry to melt in my mouth as it did. I will be making this one of my regular stops anytime I’m in downtown. I was thoroughly impressed with the whole concept of the business. I will become a lifelong customer after that fateful trip last week.

The last stop that we made was at El Barrio. This was an excellent Mexican restaurant. I had the guacamole and it was delicious. It tasted homemade. Their guacamole will now forever be the standard that I use to compare others’ dip to. I also went with my professor’s recommendation to be adventurous and got their meatloaf. I would have never thought in a million years to get that dish at a Mexican restaurant. It was amazing and I will absolutely make it a point to do this at any Mexican restaurant that has it on the menu from now on.

After our meal, we took the bus back to campus and went our separate ways for the weekend. I thoroughly enjoyed this adventure. This experience made me want to do this again on my own time. I’m also motivated to do this on the public transportation back home. I would recommend this adventure to anyone and I plan to do it again soon when I have some free time.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

