Skip to content

What A Day For Blazer Nation! UAB Wins the Conference USA Title For the First Time In School History

03/14/2015

SUNP0032

Words cannot truly express the euphoria that I feel right now. I am just overcome with so much joy right now. I am immensely proud as to how classy of a program Coach Haase has built in UAB. I have never seen a team that has matured both on and of the court over the course of a season as this one did.

I went to the LSU vs. UAB game back in December and it was a complete disaster. UAB had a big lead in the first half and they played poorly enough in the 2nd to let LSU steal a game they didn’t deserve to win.

SUNP0035

When UAB went into halftime with a 37-26 lead, I was concerned that having the third youngest team in Division I Basketball might cost them this game. You never know how a team of mainly Freshmen and Sophomores are going to react with a date with March Madness on the line. However, I am proud to admit that I was wrong.

UAB is playing like a team on a mission right now and I wouldn’t be surprised if they can put together a run similar to what Florida Gulf Coast did a couple of years ago. If I’m a really high seed tomorrow and I see that I’m playing UAB, I would be scared for my life right now. They are the type of team that can be a match-up nightmare for a lot of teams.

UAB's Press Conference after winning the C-USA Title

UAB’s Press Conference after winning the C-USA Title

UAB won the game through a variety of avenues. They shot the ball extremely well. Not only did the shoot 51.9% for the game, but the shot a mind blowing 63.6% in the second half alone. Even more impressive is they shot an unheard of 55.6% form behind the arch.

The old adage, “Defense Wins Championships” was even more prevalent than usual this afternoon. They held Middle Tennessee to 37.5% shooting in the first half and 36.4 3 Point % in the first half. Shooting that poorly is not a good way to start a game. When you look at the stats, they were fortunate to only be down 13 at halftime.

What I thought was the most critical thing for UAB was that 8,279 people bought tickets for this game. I would say that most of them showed up for the game. I can honestly sat that it was a big deal for the residents of Birmingham to come to Legacy Arena this afternoon and support this team. This showing could go a long way in determining if UAB gets to stay in the Conference USA or not next year.

That’s all for now feel free to follow me on Twitter via @TeenageSportGuy and check me out on Fancred via: http://fancred.com/#users/35296/posts

Go Blazers!!!!!

From → Basketball

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

