Skip to content

My Family….

11/29/2014

My family is wonderful. I have a huge family. One thing that I love about the holidays is that I get to see more of my family than I get to during the entire year. Thanksgiving is awesome because I get to see all of my cousins and just hang out with them all day. My whole family normally comes over to my house and spends the entire day together. We will play video games, watch the Thanksgiving Day games that the National Football League puts on every year on a regular basis. This year was a little different because Louisiana State University played Texas A&M on Thanksgiving Day for the first time in a long time. We all sat in front of my parents’ television set and watched LSU play their game. My house was completely packed with people. We had so many people over that we had people eating in our Dining Room, our Living Room, and our Kitchen. All three of those areas were packed with people. You have to imagine how packed it was because both of my mom and my dad had their entire sides of their families over for Thanksgiving Dinner.

Thanksgiving Dinner was wonderful because my Mom just asked everyone to bring something to the dinner. We had all kinds of food. We had everything from Corn Pudding to Deviled Eggs for dinner. My Mom had this awesome recipie for a Cranberry Sauce over Creme Cheese Dip out of the Southern Living Magazine. I have to say that the dip was probably the favorite thing that she made. Dinner was great. We had wonderful conversation about politics, religion, and everything that a person could imagine in between that spectrum of topics. The conversation was highly entertaining. I was really grateful that I came home from Birmingham-Southern College for Thanksgiving Break to see my family.

What was really great was that after Thanksgiving Dinner my entire family went to Brown Thursday/Black Friday together. We went all over Baton Rouge together to the various stores together. Our plan was that since there were so many of us, that we would be able to cover more ground separately than going as one unit. This was a excellent plan. We were all able to buy what we needed to. My parents got all of the Christmas Shopping done for my entire family. We bought what we needed and then we all left the stores.

I would consider my Thanksgiving to be an overall success. I got to see people in my huge family that I have not seen since I moved back to Birmingham, Alabama in August. I had an excellent time with all of them. My family might be big, but I really enjoy spending time with them. I would not trade them for anything in the world. I have really missed all of them since I moved away in August. They are really wonderful. They are the reason that I love the holidays so much because this is really the only time of the year that I get to spend a lot of quality time with them.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

