Skip to content

Why does Football Matter To Me

11/24/2014

Why does football matter to me? This is an excellent question. Football matters to me for a variety reasons. To understand why I care about Football matters so much, you need to understand why I play football. I play football for the opportunity to develop a brotherhood with my teammates that will stay with me for the rest of my life, the ability to learn many life lesson that I would not have otherwise experienced, and because I love the opportunity to prove people wrong.

The first reason as to why I play football is because I cherish the opportunity to win and lose with men that I will have a brotherhood with for the rest of my life. The guys that I play with at Birmingham-Southern College mean the world to me. If anyone on this team needed a life-saving procedure, I would be the first one to want to give them whatever they needed. The guys that I am playing with right now will more than likely be in my wedding and will help me raise my kids. It is hard to explain what exactly this bond is, but I know that it is something special. This bond comes from going through 6 a.m. workouts and Training Camp together. I know that if I somehow fall out of contact with these guys one day, I know that when I eventually see them again, we will pick up exactly where we left off.

The second reason of why I play Football is because this is where you can learn some of life’s hardest lessons. One of these lessons is how to deal with failure. In Football, when you make a mistake you have theoretically failed. However, one of the hardest lessons to learn is that you have to keep trying and can’t give up. If I quit and rolled over after every time I had a bad snap, I would be nowhere near where I am today. Football has also taught me how to be patient and to persevere. In High School, I did not have the opportunity to play until my Senior Year and even then I was not a starter right off of the bat. I had to wait until the scrimmage before the regular season started to get an opportunity to play. I only got that opportunity because the person who started in front of me on extra point and field goals had one bad snap. I took advantage of that opportunity, executed and the rest is history.

The last reason as to why I play Football is because I love to prove people wrong. I don’t say that to sound self-centered or condescending. I say that because no one actually believed that I would have a chance to live out my dream of playing college football. You see, I was not the most athletic person on my high school’s football team, but no one was going to work harder than I did. No one ever believed me when I told them I was coming here with an opportunity to play football. Everyone always thought that it was some kind of joke or that I wouldn’t be able to handle it. Well I proved my doubters wrong because I have survived everything that has been thrown my way regardless of how challenging it has been. My dad taught me from a very young age on that to get anything you want in this world, you have to be willing to make the sacrifices necessary to get what you want. He also told me that nothing will be given to you and you need to work for it.

If I didn’t play football, I think that I would have a huge void in my life.  I also wouldn’t have made the friends that I made through this whole process.  I would not trade this experience for anything.  This has been an incredible opportunity and I have done my best to take advantage of it.  I would not have it any other way.  I would do anything for the friends that I have made.  This has been an awesome experience.  I would highly recommend to anyone to play college athletics if they have the chance to do so.  This has been a wonderful experience that I wouldn’t trade for the world.

I thank God every morning for giving me this wonderful opportunity. I always thank him for letting me live out my dream.   I also thank him for the awesome guys that I have the privilege to go to battle with everyday of the week.  I honestly cherish this because it can be taken from you in the blink of an eye. Not many people get this opportunity and I think that I am the luckiest man alive for having it. Not many people truly realize how lucky they are until it’s been taken away from them. That is why I play Football.

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

