Skip to content

My Black Friday Story

11/13/2014

Since today is one of the few days during our Blog Like Crazy month, that we can write about anything that we want to, I am going to write about my personal history with Black Friday. Black Friday has turned into a true bonding experience for my family. This whole shenanigan started in I believe 2007. I was in the 7th grade and it was Thanksgiving Day. I was watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade when I saw all of these commercials advertising the big retail stores opening at all of these crazy hours in the morning. For example, I believe that Target was opening at around 4 a.m. and Macy’s was opening at around 5:00 a.m. I was completely amazed that there were people who would wake up that early just to save a little bit of money of of their Christmas Lists. I thought that it was utterly nuts.

After the Macy’s parade finished, one of my all time favorite Christmas Movies came on. It was “The Miracle on 34th Street.” While I was watching that movie, the ads for Black Friday just kept coming on one right after another. After seeing them for so long, I began to think to myself how much fun it would be to participate in what was apparently a really big deal. My Mom had just finished cleaning up the kitchen from the disaster that is Thanksgiving Dinner. I walked up to her and asked her if she would be interested in taking me out shopping with all of the crazy people. She immediately said yes. I think that she was taken aback that her son wanted to do something that not many boys are willing to do.

We tried to convince my dad to go with us, but he would have none of it. I think that my Dad thought that we were crazy for getting up that early just to go shopping. He told us that if we wanted to get up that early, then we needed to go to bed right now. So we did just that. We went to bed probably around 10 p.m. and I set my alarm for around 2 a.m. When I went to wake up my mom, my dad told me to let her sleep for a few more hours. I reluctantly listened to him and I let my Mom sleep. Well I waited untill around 5 a.m. and I tried again. Well this time I was successful in getting my Mom up. We both took showers to prepare for what would end up being a very long day.

My Mom and I had no idea as to what we were getting ourselves into. We walked out the door and casually went to our favorite local doughnut shop and got some breakfast to get us motivated for the long day.  After me ant our donuts, my Mom asked me where I wanted to go first.  I told her the mall.  She at first didn’t understand why.  Her thinking was that the best deals were going to be at either Walmart or Target.  I explained to her that those places would be mad houses right now and we should pass and just move on.  She decided to agree with me and we went to the mall.

I couldn’t believe how packed it was at our local mall.  We had to park at least what I thought was a half mile away form the entrance to the door.  We decided to go the J.C. Penny’s.  When we walked inside, our initial reaction was that a tornado had just whipped through the store.  It is impossible to describe how much stuff was all over the place.  There were clothes and shoes thrown all over the place.  I could have sworn that a riot had just happened there.  That is the best way that I can think of to describe the scene I saw.

The only thing that I remember specifically buying was my Mom’s Christmas Present that year.  My Mom bought an assortment of other things.  All I really remember was that we stood in line with everything that we waited to buy and waited for about two hours just to checkout.  It was sheer madness.  Now on Black Friday is when I buy all of my Christmas presents for my parents.  I also usually buy whatever I want for me that’s really inexpensive as well.  I buy things like books, video games, jewelry, among other things.

Black Friday from that day on has come to have special meaning for my parents and I.  After my Mom and I went that first year, we have gone every year sense then.  After he saw what we bought and how much we save that first year, my Dad has joined use every year sense then.  My family and I have been every year for the last six year and we plan to make it a 7th straight year this year.  In fact, Black Friday has become such a big deal to my family and I that we have moved up celebrating Thanksgiving a day early just so that we can be well prepared to go shopping on Thursday.  I actually like that the stores have started opening on Thanksgiving now, because it doesn’t mess with our sleep pattern now nearly as much as it used to.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

