Skip to content

My Vision of Myself as a Reader and a Writer

10/16/2014

A person can have a couple of different visions of themselves as a reader and writer. I have a mostly positive vision of myself as a reader and a writer. I think that I am a decent reader, but playing football at Birmingham-Southern College does not allow me to dedicate much time to reading for pleasure. I think one of my weaknesses for reading is that I am a slow reader. This is especially true when it comes to reading things for school. When I am reading things that I do not understand, I will spend longer than I anticipated trying to make sense of what is going on. I am going to challenge myself to read for pleasure for at least half an hour every day and to not trying and spend so much time reading things I do not understand for school. Instead, what I need to do is to ask questions about what I am having trouble understanding in my readings.

I also see myself as a decent writer. I think that some of my weaknesses are grammar and word-choice. I also find I am repetitive in papers that I am writing. What I mean is that I have a tendency to say something that I have said earlier, just with different words. One goal that I have is to commit to actually keeping up with my blog. The only way that I will improve is practice my writing. I have a tendency to start a blog and then I will never follow through with it. This time, I will work to change that. Overall, I think that I am a decent writer with a lot of room for improvement.

There is a wide range of websites, magazines, newspapers, and people that I follow on Twitter to get information from. The websites that I visit on a regular basis are yahoo.com and espn.com. I will go to Yahoo and ESPN many different times throughout the day to see the updated content throughout the day. I like going to both websites to get all the news that I need. Some of the magazines that I read are The Economist and Sports Illustrated. Some of the newspapers that I read are the “USA Today” and “The New York Tines”. I read these newspapers over others because I am able to get them free at Birmingham-Southern College. Some of the people that I follow on Twitter are Lars Anderson, Bill Simmons, Dan Patrick, Paul Finebaum, Dana O’Neil, Jim Dunaway, Mark Cuban, Drew Brees just to name a few. The last five books that I read were “Business as a Calling”, “Delivering Happiness”, “The Mocking Bird”, “License to Pawn: Deals, Steals, and My Life at the Gold & Silver”, and “For What It’s Worth: Business Wisdom from a Pawnbroker”.

I decided to take this class for a variety of reasons. I wanted to take this class because I wanted to take advantage of the limited Journalism related classes that Birmingham-Southern offers. Originally, my dream in life was to get a degree in Broadcast Journalism from the University of Alabama and to one day host my own sports-talk radio show. However, sometimes things change. During the spring of my Senior Year of High School, I had the opportunity to live a different dream of mine. That dream was to play college football. I thought that when I decided to play college football, I was giving up one dream for another. However, I was wrong. I realized that by playing college football, it would give me a perspective on the game that few journalists have. I would have an ability to talk about the game in a way that most people cannot. This class gives me a further opportunity to hone the skills that I will need in order to have a chance to be successful in the industry.

I am extremely excited to take this class. I think that this class will help me to develop the skills that I need so I can get a job in the real world doing what I really want to do for the rest of my life. I think that if you are truly happy in what you are doing, then you will never work a day in your life. I am looking forward to having the opportunity to see if I truly like Journalism enough to want to do it for the rest of my life.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

